World Championship League of Legends winners

LOL World Cup is a competition between the best teams of regional leagues, conducted by Riot Games since 2011. The competition is held annually, as a rule, in the fall, after the end of the summer split.

As a result of the draw, League of Legends teams are divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each, while in one group there can be no more than one team from each league. According to the results of the group stage, the first two teams enter the playoffs. This is followed by a draw in the quarterfinals of the competition.

Season One (2011)

The first world Cup in LOL was conducted in a LAN tournament format as part of the “Dreamhack” summer festival on 18-20 of June 2011 in Jönköping, Sweden.

The prize fund of 99.5 thousand dollars was drawn between the teams from Europe, North America, and Southeast Asia. Half of this amount went to the British “Fnatic”, which beat “Against all authority” in the grand finale.

Season Two (2012)

It was held from 4 to 13 October 2012 in Los Angeles, USA. The organization of the Cup and the selection cost Riot Games $ 2 million. The prize fund of the second season was $ 2 million, half of this amount was granted to “Taipei Assassins” – the winner of the year.

Season 3, 5 and 6 (2013, 2015, 2016)

The third Cup was held from September 15 to October 4, 2013, in Los Angeles, USA. Tickets for the final were sold out an hour after appearing on sale. In the final, “SK Telecom T1” and Royal Club met in a fruitful battle. Being the favorite of the meeting, the team from Korea won with the score 3: 0.

From 2015, SK Telecom T1 performs in the LOL Champions Korea, being its five-time champion. SKT – three-time world title winners (2013, 2015 and 2016); Intel Extreme Masters Season X winners; champions of Mid-Season Invitational 2016 and Mid-Season Invitational 2017. Taking to the account all the above mentioned, they are truly considered the best team of LOL.

Season 4 (2014)

It was held from September 18 to October 19, 2014, in Taiwan, Singapore, and South Korea. Like last season, the Korean team became the world champion, while the representative of the Chinese league finished the battle in second place. In the final “Samsung Galaxy White” defeated the “Star Horn Royal Club” with a score of 3: 1.

In 2017 Chinese World Cup, the Korean “Samsung Galaxywon overcoming legendary SK Telecom T1 in a grand finale.

Season 8 (2018)

In 2018, the Cup took place in South Korea, bringing the victory to “Invictus Gaming” team from China.

Recently it was announced that the 2019 World Cup final will take place in France. So, with big interest, we are looking forward to seeing the next world champion. Any suggestions who it may be? Share your thoughts in comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *